Sports News Post

Bringing The Latest Sports News

All time list of Women’s cricket world cup winners

International Cricket Council organizes women’s world cup to boost sport for the females. The inaugural edition of women’s cricket world cup was played in 1973 hosted by England and won by them as well. Since then 11 editions of world cup have been played successfully and 12th women’s cricket world cup to be held in 2021 in New Zealand.

Australia women’s team is the most successful team of ICC world cup as they won championship 6 times. After that, it’s England who have won 4 titles so far and will be title defending champions in 2021 edition. Recent world cup was held in England and won by English team defeating Indian women’s in the final by 9 runs.

ICC women's world cup trophy
Photo: ICC women’s world cup trophy

Let’s checkout complete list of winners and runners-up in women’s ICC world cup.

ICC Women’s World Cup Winners, Runners-Up

1973EnglandAustraliaEngland won on points (20 Points)England
1978AustraliaEnglandAustralia won on points (6 Points)India
1982AustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 3 wicketsNew Zealand
1988AustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 8 wicketsAustralia
1993EnglandNew ZealandEngland won by 67 runsEngland
1997AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 5 wicketsIndia
2000New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand won by 4 runsNew Zealand
2005AustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 98 runsSouth Africa
2009EnglandNew ZealandEngland won by 4 wicketsAustralia
2013AustraliaWest IndiesAustralia won by 114 runsIndia
2017EnglandIndiaEngland won by 9 runsEngland
2021TBCTBCTBCNew Zealand

Which two teams do you think will play upcoming 2021 women’s cricket world cup final?