Sports News Post

Bringing The Latest Sports News

Rugby World Cup Winners & Runners-Up

The inaugural edition of rugby world cup was played in 1987 which was hosted by Australia and New Zealand. All Blacks beat France in the final by 29-9 to win 1987 world cup and become first ever world rugby champions. Since then nine editions of rugby world cup have been played.

New Zealand and South Africa rugby union teams are the most successful teams of the tournament as they’ve won world cup thrice each. Wallabies (Australia) also won Webb Ellis Cup two times meanwhile England won RWC once.

Webb Ellis Cup aka rugby world cup trophy
Photo: rugby world cup trophy

The recent rugby world cup was played in Japan in 2019 and South Africa won their 3rd title defeating England in the final by 32-12. The next edition is scheduled to play in France in 2023.

Let’s checkout complete list of rugby world cup winners and runners-up over the years.

Rugby World Cup Winners, Runners-Up

1987New ZealandFrance29-9Australia/New Zealand
1995South AfricaNew Zealand15-12South Africa
2007South AfricaEngland15-6France
2011New ZealandFrance8-7New Zealand
2015New ZealandAustralia34-17England
2019South AfricaEngland32-12Japan