Sports News Post

Bringing The Latest Sports News

Rugby World Cup 2023: Teams Qualification format announced

World Rugby has announced the teams qualification process for upcoming 2023 world cup in France. A total of 20 teams will be competing in the showpiece event and 12 teams have secured direct qualification meanwhile 8 teams to join by playing regional qualifiers.

Top three teams from each pool of rugby world cup 2019, have made direct entry to the tournament. The list includes rugby world champions South Africa, runners-up England, Scotland, New Zealand, Japan, Wales, France, Australia, Ireland, Argentina, Italy and Fiji.

The final dates of RWC 2023 will be announced in due course as world is currently going through COVID-19 pandemic. World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont highlighted the qualification process need.

“With the global pandemic having halted most rugby activity, confirmation of the global qualification process for Rugby World Cup 2023 provides a beacon of excitement for all, including players and fans,” Bill said.

RWC 2023 teams qualification format
Photo: RWC 2023 teams qualification format

How rugby world cup 2023 qualification works

America: Two best teams will qualify from America for the main event meanwhile third best team to enter in the final qualification round.

Europe: Two best teams from rugby europe championship will qualify for the main 2023 world cup meanwhile third placed team to enter in the final qualification tournament.

Africa: Winner of 2022 rugby africa cup to qualify for world championship main event while runners-up to compete in the final qualification.

Oceania: A home-away leg play-off match between Samoa and Tonga in 2021 will give direct qualifier from Oceania region. Play-off losing team to play Oceania Rugby cup 2021 winner in the highest-ranked team’s country with the eventual winner to play Asia/Pacific as second team from Oceania.

Asia/Pacific: Play-off match on home and away basis between second team from Oceania and the champion of the Asian Rugby Championship 2021. Winner will go to the 2023 rugby world cup in France meanwhile loser to play final qualification.

Final Qualification tournament: It will feature four teams contesting in round-robin format and winner will qualify for main world cup tournament.