Sports News Post

Bringing The Latest Sports News

List of cities, countries hosted Summer Olympic Games

First ever Summer Olympic games were held in 1896. Greece was granted hosting rights and Athens organized wonderful event from 6 to 15 April. International Olympic Committee (IOC) recently announced the host of 2028 Olympics which will take place in United States’ Los Angeles between 21 July and 6 August.

Summer Olympic Games host cities

Upcoming next summer olympic games are due to take place in Tokyo from 23 July to 8 August 2021. Originally they were scheduled to play in 2020 but due to Coronavirus outbreak, IOC had to postpone them. The next 33rd Olympiads to be held in Paris in 2024.

Let’s checkout complete list of cities and countries that hosted summer Olympics till now.

Summer Olympics Host cities, countries with event dates

1896GreeceAthens6 to 15 April
1900FranceParis14 May to 28 October
1904United StatesSt. Louis1 July to 23 November
1908United KingdomLondon27 April to 31 October
1912SwedenStockholm5 May to 22 July
1916GermanyBerlinCancelled due to World War-1
1920BelgiumAntwerp20 April to 12 September
1924FranceParis4 May to 27 July
1928NetherlandsAmsterdam17 May to 12 August
1932United StatesLos Angeles30 July to 14 August
1936GermanyBerlin1 to 16 August
1940Finland, JapanHelsinki, TokyoCancelled due to World War-2
1944LondonUnited KingdomCancelled due to World War-2
1948United KingdomLondon29 July to 14 August
1952FinlandHelsinki19 July to 3 August
1956AustraliaMelbourne22 November to 8 December
1960ItalyRome25 August to 11 September
1964JapanTokyo10 to 24 October
1968MexicoMexico City12 to 27 October
1972West GermanyMunich26 August to 11 September
1976CanadaMontreal17 July to 1 August
1980Soviet UnionMoscow19 July to 3 August
1984United StatesLos Angeles28 July to 12 August
1988South KoreaSeoul17 September to 2 October
1992SpainBarcelona25 July to 9 August
1996United StateAtlanta19 July 4 August
2000AustraliaSydney15 September to 1 October
2004GreeceAthens13 to 29 August
2008ChinaBeijing8 to 24 August
2012United KingdomLondon27 July to 12 August
2016BrazilRio de Janeiro5 to 21 August
2020JapanTokyo23 July to 8 August
2024FranceParis26 July 11 August
2028United StatesLos Angeles21 July to 6 August