Sports News Post

Bringing The Latest Sports News

ICC cricket world cup winners List

Men’s international cricket teams compete in ICC World Cup to become world champions of the sport. International Cricket Council has been organizing the showpiece event since 1975 when inaugural world cup edition took place in England, won by West Indies beating Australia in final.

ICC cricket world cup
ICC cricket world cup

The recent edition of ICC world cup was played in England and won by hosts England as they were ahead on boundary counting rule when final went into tie even after super over. India to host next men’s cricket world cup in 2023. Australia is the most successful team as they’ve won five world cups.

ICC World Cup Winners

1975West IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runsEngland
1979West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runsEngland
1983IndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runsEngland
1987AustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runsIndia, Pakistan
1992PakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runsAustralia, New Zealand
1996Sri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wicketsPakistan, India, Sri Lanka
1999AustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wicketsEngland, Wales
2003AustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runsSouth Africa
2007AustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs (D/L)West Indies
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wicketsIndia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by  wicketsAustralia, New Zealand
2019EnglandNew ZealandTie (England won on boundary count)England, Wales

Which men’s cricket team do you think will be favorite to win next ICC 2023 world cup?